So, this week was an amazing week! Monday night I had the opportunity to teach a beginning yoga student, a friend of mine looking for instruction in postures and breathing basics before she heads back into a studio.

 It reminded me of that exersise from Summer Camp where the goal is to build a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Sounds easy, but there are two of you, one who does the building and one who does the instructing. If the instructor does not mention EVERYTHING, from taking the lid off the jar to holding the knife by the handle, then things can get very messy very quickly.

It was a little like that. More so, it was an excersise in deconstructing my assumptions. For example, thinking that everyone knows how to do downward dog. Not the case. My friend is definitely fit, and she has done yoga before, but her version of DD was a plank/DD hybrid. Helping her into a more restorative pose proved challenging as I realized for the first time a certain amount of mobility in the shoulders and chest is required.

Moing on, I gave my second Yoga talk at work. We focused on breath and learned Ujjayi and Dirgha techniques. Last, I demo’d my fusion flow idea for another teacher. She actually had me teach her scheduled class for her! I lead 3 students through the flow and afterwords received their feedback. This sent me flying for the rest of the night.

Hang on to your hats! This is getting good!